Nedbank Cup 2019: Kaizer Chiefs have tails up as all the big guns exit

Nedbank 2019 cup: Kaizer Chiefs have the tails up as Sundown, Pirates, Wits and CTC choke

Chipa United FC are sitting near the bottom of the ABSA premiership but in the Nedbank cup have slaughtered giants, Mamelodi Sundowns and Bidvest Wits. In fact, with 6 games left in the ABSA premiership Chipa United are sitting in a very dangerous position, 14 place, tired on points with 15th placed, Baroka. A good run in the Nedbank cup can affect their league form and could see them relegated from ABSA premiership. In fact, Black Leopards FC reached the Nedbank Cup final in 2010-11 season and then got relegated. Moreover, Chipa United FC, reach the Nedbank cup semi-final for only the second time in their short history.

Kaizer Chiefs knocked out the stubborn Cape Town City (CTC) and league contenders which leaves Kaizer Chiefs as the only team in the top half of the ABSA premiership left to compete for the Nedbank Cup 2019. Kaizer Chiefs trophy drought has been the longest in its history. Having started after the departure of Stewart Baxter, the current Bafana Bafana coach. Their last trophy was the league title in the 2014-15 PSL season.

Nedbank Cup Semi-Final Draw

Nedbank Cup Semi-final draw presented Kaizer Chiefs with a tough draw, Chipa United. Moreover, the game will be played in the Eastern Cape which will make things hard for Kaizer Chiefs. Goldern Arrows will be playing first division football team, TS Galaxy and aim to reach their first Nedbank cup final.

Previous Nedbank Cup Winners

  • Mamelodi Sundowns - 2008
  • Moroka Swallows - 2009
  • Bidvest Wits - 2010
  • Orlando Pirate - 2011
  • SuperSport United - 2012
  • Kaizer Chiefs -2013
  • Orlando Pirates - 2014
  • Mamelodi Sundowns - 2015
  • SuperSport United - 2016
  • SuperSport United - 2017
  • Free State Stars - 2018
Kaizer Chiefs have won the Nedbank Cup an unbelievable 13 times since its inception in 1971.


Popular posts from this blog

Son Heung-Min wins EPL October Player of the month award

Top 5 Greatest Long Passers of the ball: Dunga, Alonso, Pirlo, Scoles and Veron

Paul Rothmans Cup Dolezar one of the best foreign coaches to coach in SA