Skip to main content

ABSA cancels PSL league sponsorship after 13 years

ABSA cancels sponsorship after it has been the sponsor of the Premier Soccer League (PSL) since 2007. In 2007, ABSA replaced Castle as the main sponsor of the PSL. This means that the PSL will have no sponsorship when the 2020-21 season begins. COVID-19 is wreaking havoc in South Africa (SA) and maybe one of the reasons ABSA has canceled. The other reason may be that the current (2019-20) season has been placed on hold for over 2 months with no indication of when the season will resume.

ABSA have ended their relationship with the PSL after pumping 500 million rands into the PSL over a period of 13 years. It is a decision that has stunned the media since last year ABSA increased the price money of the PSL to 39.9 million rands which means the 2019-20 season winner would receive a whopping 15 million rands up from 10 million the previous season.

Currently, in SA the infection rates are increasing and the number of deaths. As of 4 June 2020, there are 37 525 confirmed cases and 792 deaths according to coronavirus SA website. On 4 June, it was reported that coronavirus confirmed cases had risen to 1713 cases and 37 deaths.

Read more:The effects of coronavirus on football

ABSA Premiership League Title Winners

2007-08: SuperSport United - coach Gavin Hunt
2008-09: SuperSport United - coach Gavin Hunt
2009-10: SuperSport United - coach Gavin Hunt
2010-11: Orlando Pirates - coach Ruud Krol
2011-12: Orlando Pirates - coach 
2012-13: Kaizer Chiefs - coach Sturt Baxter
2013-14: Mamelodi Sundowns - coach Pitso Mosimane
2014-15: Kaizer Chiefs - coach Sturt Baxter
2015-16: Mamelodi Sundowns - coach Pitso Mosimane
2016-17: Bidvest Wits - coach Gavin Hunt
2017-18: Mamelodi Sundowns - coach Pitso Mosimane
2018-19: Mamelodi Sundowns - coach Pitso Mosimane

Mamelodi Sundowns have won the most ABSA Premiership League titles with 4. Coach Pitso Mosimane and Gavin Hunt have won the ABSA Premiership League 4 times more than any other coach. Dane Klate is the football player that has won the most ABSA Premiership League title; 6 titles 3 with SuperSport United, 2 with Orlando Pirates, and solitary title with Bidvest Wits.

Do you think this decision is influenced by COVID-19?Please leave your comments below.


Popular posts from this blog

Transnet Football School of Excellence 2020 trials

The prominent Transnet Football School of Excellence hosted soccer trials on the 18th of January 2020. This year's soccer trials were the most attended, as thousands of young footballers gathered to show off their talent and hopefully book a place in the illustrious school. This is due to the ability of the school producing the best football talent in South Africa (SA) such as Steven Pienaar, Bernard Parker, and Phakamani Mahlambi one of its latest exports.

The Transnet Football School of Excellence was looking for youngsters born in the years 2006, 2007 and 2008 to fill their grade 8 class of 2020. The boarding school only accommodates 120 students and there was only space for 20 other children. Trials were held late this year due to financial challenges said one of the employees at the school! This did not deter parents and their children. Parents, guardians (.i.e. local coaches) and children came in their numbers. Queues for trials started inside the school and ended a very long…

Who is Keletso Makgalwa

Matlala Keletso Makgalwa is the new rising star of Mamelodi Sundowns. He was born on 3rd of January 1997 in Mokopane, Limpopo, South Africa in the Moshate Village. His height is approximately 1.7 meters. Similar to that of players he is compared to Aguero - 1.73 meters and Lionel Messi - 1.7 meters. Sundowns supporters and coach Pitso believe he can be the next Percy Tau since he has received almost similar grooming to the Bafana Bafana star at Sundowns.
He was discovered at the Kay Motsepe Schools Cup 2015, everyone could see his talent!
His favorite position is left-wing but he can play right-wing or striker positions. His is ambipedal judging from goals he has scored in the Multichoice Diski Challenge (MDC) which is a great attribute for any football player but his stronger or preferred kicking foot is the right foot. Keletso Makgalwa is armed with blistering pace, skills, and goal scoring ability.

Keletso is given the nickname "Aguero" or "Messi" because of simila…

Paul Rothmans Cup Dolezar one of the best foreign coaches to coach in SA

Who is Paul Dolezar? Paul Dolezar was once a coach of the mighty Amakhosi and Mamelodi Sundowns. In his short spells coaching in South Africa (SA) he managed to win the Rothmans cup 3 times, a league title with Mamelodi Sundowns, and in 2005 the SAA Supa 8 with Bloemfontein Celtic FC which had not won a cup in 20 years.

The late Serbian national began his playing career in Yugoslavia and then finished in France. Pavle Dolezar did not have a glittering playing career; he spent most of his playing career playing in the lower leagues. He played as a left middle fielder throughout his career, and his greatest achievement as a player is when he helped Proleter gain promotion to the first division in Yugoslavia. He played for Yugoslavia national team; he played against the likes of France, Russia, and Bulgaria to name a few. Dolezar played all across Europe; France, Belgium, Yugoslavia, and in the Netherlands. The Serbian had only one season of top flight football in the Eredivisie playing f…